NewsSeptember 16, 2007 11:23 PM ET2,748 views

Roadrunner Records signs The Parlor Mob

Official press release: Roadrunner Records is proud to announce the worldwide signing of New Jersey soulful quintet, The Parlor Mob. Drawing in a thick stream of admirers through their humble beginnings in the south New Jersey club scene, the band has birthed an organic output of groove rock. Adorned in '70s inspired high fashion, these indie rockers have invested time in cultivating a new sound forged from classic blues with modern sensibilities. Heartfelt and catchy vocals hook on to groove driven riffs, creating the band's unique, vibrant sound. This band bleeds musical legitimacy. The Parlor Mob is: Sam Bey (drums), Mark Melicia (vocals), Paul Ritchie (guitar), Dave Rosen (guitar) and Nick Villapiano (bass). Before the band was recognized as The Parlor Mob, they played under the moniker What About Frank?. Harvesting successes at major events such as the Vans Warped Tour, Bamboozle, CMJ Music Marathon and South By Southwest, the band nurtured a following in both New Jersey and throughout the U.S. Changing their name to The Parlor Mob, they adopted a rejuvenated sense of purpose and are focusing on creating music for their Roadrunner debut. "Thank God for the Parlor Mob," says A&R representative David Bason "They single handedly bring showmanship back to the boring landscape of today's rock snorefest." Live shows project like a Robert Plant home movie, capturing the raw essence and energy of rock ‘n roll with a jolt of punk rock intensity. The band is slated to commence recording at Asheville, NC's Echo Mountain studios later this month. Jacquire King (Tom Waits, Kings of Leon) has signed on to produce the album. Parlor Mob’s debut release is slated for 2008.

Related News