NewsOctober 7, 2005 5:10 PM ET7,938 views

The Ocean sign w/ Metal Blade Records

Official press release (Metal Blade Records): The Ocean is a phenomenal, very unique band that features influences from various styles of hard and also more mellow music. They are famous for their hardcore eruptions as well as their flowing soundscapes that are somewhat reminiscent of American pioneers Neurosis . But in the end they are simply The Ocean, a band that is well known in the German underground, not only for their albums, but also for their excessive live shows. Comments The Ocean guitarist Robin Staps: "After talking to various labels over the course of the past months, we're happy to finally join forces with one of the most important labels for heavy music out there. Out of all the parties we've been talking to, Metal Blade seemed to be the most reasonable about what they can do for us and how they will go about doing it." "All the instrumental and vocal tracks have been laid down and we are almost finished with the mix. We have taken a multiple-singer approach this time, with the aim of finding the perfect voice for every part. The result is a number of guest appearances, including Tomas Hallbom of Breach, Nate Newton of Converge/Old Man Gloom and Sean Ingram of Coalesce. Altogether there are 6 singers featured on the album, covering the widest possible range of aggressive vocals, from deep howls to high-pitched shrieking, with our main man Meta at the low end and laptopist Nico at the high end of the vocal spectrum." Aeolian is the heavier twin of the 2004 release Fluxion. Both albums were recorded in one long session, which lasted from January 2004 until July 2005, in the band's own Oceanland studio. The album was mastered by Magnus Lindberg (Cult Of Luna) at the Tonteknik studio in Umea, Sweden. While Fluxion mixed the orchestral and atmospheric side of its predecessor Fogdiver with harsh vocals and complex metal passages, Aeolian develops all this fusion even further: the orchestral parts have been relegated to the background, the songs are heavier and more complex, and the arrangements are totally uncompromising. However, this is not necessarily the direction in which the band is headed, but a result of the choice of songs on offer – The Ocean won't move away from their epic orchestrations. In fact, on Aeolian the band wanted to experiment how a reduction to the classic line-up of guitar/bass/drums/vocals would work in the context of The Ocean. What came out is a dense, brutal album without unnecessary decorations, aiming straight for the throat. Tomas Hallbom, who guests on 5 tracks, also appeared on stage with the band at selected shows last April, during which a few Breach songs were covered. Breach is one of The Ocean's main influences. Sean Ingram recorded the whole song "Queen Of The Food-Chain." Sean himself had the following to say about his participation: "if my rough takes at home are any indication, this will be my favorite guest appearance yet." The elaborate design is the brainchild of Norwegian artist Martin Kvamme, who is best known for his work on Mike Patton's various projects (Fantomas, Tomahawk, Patton/Kaada). Track list Aeolian 1. The City In The Sea 2. Dead Serious & Highly Professional 3. Austerity 4. Killing The Flies 5. Une Saison En Enfer 6. 7. One With The Ocean 8. Swoon 9. Queen Of The Food-Chain 10. Inertia The live-video clip of "Queen of The Food-Chain" by Karl Bongartz is available for download now in the brand new video section on the website.

Related News

Turnstile announce North American fall tour
Turnstile will headline a six-week tour later this year.

Video: 10-year-old girl covers Spiritbox on America's Got Talent
Not only was Miss Harper on network TV last night — she also performed with Spiritbox in London.