NewsJune 17, 2024 2:26 AM ET1,341 views

Crobot announce new album, Obsidian; debut lead single "Come Down"

crobot 24

Kira Bishop

Pottsville, PA groove rockers Crobot have announced the band's fifth studio album, Obsidian, which will be released September 13th through Megaforce Records. Obsidian was produced by the band at Machine Shop Studios in Austin, TX and was engineered, mixed, and master Alberto De Icaza.

In addition to the new album announcement Crobot has shared the album's lead single "Come Down", which was co-written by drummer Dan Ryan and vocalist Bryan Yeagley

Guitarist Chris Bishop shared the following:

As we started demoing songs, the music was being pushed more and more into a heavier, darker, more metal direction. 'Come Down' is one of the heaviest songs that we've done, it's much more in the world of Alice in Chains. Dan, our drummer, comes from that world, and we didn't try to stifle that, so the new music is a lot heavier than our previous albums.




Bishop also spoke about the new album:

'Obsidian,' the title track, went through many different structures, but it was never quite right. So, we put it on hold and hit up Howard Jones, who used to play in Killswitch Engage and is now in Light the Torch. We told him that we had the album's title, Obsidian, but not the title track, sent him the tune, and he came back with some ideas that were perfect. So, we rolled with that; Brandon put his spin on Howard's ideas, and we brought Howard into the circle of being in Crobot for that one song.

Each song descends into the darker reaches of the psyche, set to a relentless rhythm of heavy, pulsing beats and gut-wrenching guitar solos, and offers a stark reflection of internal struggles.


Yeagley added:

'Obsidian' is almost a rebirth of our career, we were able to take a different approach to the writing and recording of this album, so the experience was very rewarding and different from past projects. Conflicts and reflections make you a better person, even in those darker moments, but I know I became a better person for it. I think that's what symbolizes this entire album for us. It's been a real breath of fresh air.


Obsidian track list:
1. Obsidian
2. Come Down
3. Nothing
4. From The Ground
5. Disappear
6. Metal
7. The Flood
8. Ancient Druid Crown
9. Head Of The Beast
10. White Rabbit
11. Happiness

Tags: Crobot

Related News

#150 Simon Marinate of Tracheotomy

#110 Mikael Stanne of Dark Tranquillity/The Halo Effect