NewsAugust 3, 2023 12:09 PM ET1,495 views

Prong announce 13th album, share new single along with lyric video


Nathaniel Shannon

Official press release:

It's been four years since heavy metal stalwarts Prong released their acclaimed Age of Defiance EP, and this fall, they make their eagerly anticipated return with the release of their 13th studio album, State of Emergency, out October 6, 2023 via Steamhammer / SPV.

Pre-order State Of Emergency here.

The earned experience of having sat at the forefront of the heavy metal scene in the US and around the world for many decades now has given Tommy and the band the foresight to know what's ahead, and to and to keep churning out that impeccable recipe of punk, metal, post-punk noise, doom, blues and thrash that makes up Prong's sound.

State of Emergency is a furious tableau of East Coast aggression, enveloped in that classic Prong sound that never goes out of style. The album's first official single, "Non-Existence", is a perfect picture of its overall sound.

Speaking on the new single Tommy Victor shared:

Non-Existence', with its techno-style noise guitar that's omnipresent on this album, is a bit like my retrospective glance at 'Rude Awakening'.

Victor shared the following regarding the new album State of Emergency:

It's a very 'PRONG' record. I think it's totally genre-transcending and definitely ignores what's going on out there these days,"

Commenting on his artistic approach, he says: "I like all kinds of music. This record totally reflects that because it covers lots of different angles. At the same time,'State Of Emergency' is very guitar-oriented and a typical example of my style.'

State of Emergency tracklist:
1. The Descent
2. State of Emergency
3. Breaking Point
4. Non-Existence
5. Light Turns Black
6. Who Told Me
7. Obeisance
8. Disconnected
9. Compliant
10. Back (NYC)
11. Working Man (RUSH Cover)

Tags: Prong

Related News

#150 Simon Marinate of Tracheotomy

#110 Mikael Stanne of Dark Tranquillity/The Halo Effect