NewsNovember 28, 2022 1:19 PM ET3,719 views

Metallica announce new album, share new single


Ross Halfin

Metallica has announced 72 Seasons, the follow-up album to their 2016 release, Hardwired... to Self-Destruct. The album should see release sometime in the Spring of 2023. The group has also released their first single off the upcoming effort, "Lux Æterna", which is also the first new material from the band in six years.


The upcoming album was produced by Greg Fidelman (who also produced Metallica's Death Magnetic, Lulu, Hardwired, and the live 2020 live album S&M2) along with band members James Hetfield and Lars Ulrich. The album has a run time of 77 minutes and is complied of 12 tracks. You can view the album artwork and tracklisting below.


72 Season tracklist:
01. 72 Seasons
02. Shadows Follow
03. Screaming Suicide
04. Sleepwalk My Life Away
05. You Must Burn!
06. Lux Æterna
07. Crown of Barbed Wire
08. Chasing Light
09. If Darkness Had A Son
10. Too Far Gone?
11. Room of Mirrors
12. Inamorta

Tags: Metallica

Related News

Top Fifteen Stories on Lambgoat in 2022
A look at the most-viewed news stories in the metal and hardcore scene during the year 2022.

Top Ten Stories on Lambgoat in December 2022
Pantera performed with its new line up for the first time, It Dies Today announced a reunion, and more