NewsJune 1, 2022 2:19 PM ET5,208 views

Ether Coven sign with Good Fight Music, debut new single feat. Dwid of Integrity

Ether Coven

Karen Jerzyk

Ether Coven (featuring members of Remembering Never) have announced their signing to Good Fight Music and forthcoming album, The Relationship Between the Hammer and the Nail, set for release on August 5th. The first taste of music from the record is new single, "Psalm of Cancer," featuring guest vocals from Dwid Hellion of Integrity and Anthony Crupi of Pain Ritual.

Peter Kowalsky (vocals, guitar) expands: "This song is about my days and nights going through chemotherapy and the moments that the doctors don't warn you about. They tell you about the nausea and the bleeding, stomach issues, neuropathy, and the lethargy. They somehow leave out the parts that surround depression and suicidal thoughts. This is/was no easy battle and my heart breaks for anyone else that has had to deal with this or has had loved ones that have experienced this. Cancer is no joke. We figured this was as bleak as it could get, why not add a little more darkness, so we asked Dwid from Integrity to throw some vocals on top of this here and there and the result is absolutely bonkers. This song is dedicated to anyone who knows this struggle."

Produced by Andy Nelson at Bricktop Studios, the band set out to get The Relationship Between the Hammer and the Nail "sounding as close to their live performance as possible." Meanwhile, the band recruited a heavy line-up of guests and friends to feature. Among those making appearances are Dan Weyandt (Zao) and Howard Jones (Light The Torch, Blood Has Been Shed). On opener and lead single "Psalm of Cancer" the band is joined by Integrity vocalist Dwid Hellion and Pain Ritual's Anthony Crupi (who makes several vocal contributions on the album).

The Relationship Between the Hammer and the Nail track listing:

1. Psalm of Cancer (feat. Dwid Hellion, Anthony Crupi)
2. Afraid & Suffering (feat. Dan Weyandt)
3. god Hates Flags (feat. Tarek Ahmed, Anthony Crupi)
4. Of Might & Failure (feat. Shane Post)
5. The Warmth of Your Bathwater (feat. Anthony Crupi)
6. Temple of Wu (instrumental)
7. Consequences of Self (Let the Nails Carve Our Names in Rust) (feat. Howard Jones)

Related News

#150 Simon Marinate of Tracheotomy

#110 Mikael Stanne of Dark Tranquillity/The Halo Effect