NewsMarch 15, 2022 3:07 PM ET1,459 views

Pyrithe announce debut album 'Monuments To Impermanence', share new track

Official press release:

Pittsburgh collaborative, experimental, sludge trio Pyrithe announce the band's long-awaited, debut full-length, titled Monuments To Impermanence, to be released April 29, 2022 via Gilead Media.

Over the eight tracks of Monuments To Impermanence the band bursts open at light-speed through a sonic maelstrom of genre-bending, heavy-as-hell, tornado-like breakthroughs. Calculated, yet never suffocating, the lurching movements of each song twist and turn through evolutions of profound mood swings laced in nebulous, post-everything, sludge-drenched power. Thematically, the band sees the world as apocalyptic and dreadful but through a lens of hilarity and absurdity.

"It's more about understanding, embracing, or jovially mocking those things with strange reverence," shares Pyrithe multi-instrumentalist Kerr. While broadening their scope both musically and thematically, Pyrithe have achieved an unforgettable and masterful new take on songwriting.

Today, the trio have released a track from the album titled, "Glioblastoma." The haunting track features a chilling guest vocal performance from Pyrithe's original singer, Vicky Carbone.

About the track, drummer/vocalist Kerr shares: "'Glioblastoma' is the first song we wrote together as a band. Composed and recomposed over several months and four practice spaces, it's us learning to trust each other and create a coherent whole greater than the sum of our individual influences and expectations. We're so happy our original vocalist Vicky was gracious enough to provide essential vocals and lyrics. We couldn't imagine anyone else on this song and it's a perfect way to introduce this record."

Listen to "Glioblastoma" here:

Formed in 2017 by Kerr and Miller, the duo set out to "make the heaviest music we could without forcing ourselves to be 'heavy' in any specific way," (Kerr). The band recruited Weston on bass and Vicky Carbone on vocals. As a foursome, the band shared the stage with the likes of Falls Of Rauros, Immortal Bird, and more, and made a festival appearance at Migration Fest. The band amicably parted ways with Carbone and began working on their full-length. The three-piece entered Fire K Studios in July of 2019 to create Monuments Of Impermanence. The trio welcomed multiple guests to perform on the album - including a reappearance of Vicky Carbone who delivers a chilling vocal performance, a blistering and terrorizing vocal performance from Pyrrhon front man Doug Moore, and found-percussion performances (including the use of actual trash!) from Jason Cantu, Max Johnson (Noltem), and Shalin Shah (Noltem).

Monuments To Impermanence will be released on LP (pre-order coming soon), compact disc, cassette, and digital via Gilead Media and features beautiful new artwork by Caroline Harrison. Pre-order is available now.

Monuments To Impermanence track listing:

1. Asurviance
2. Glioblastoma
3. In Praise of the Enochian Trickster
4. Heaving Roots II
5. Luminous
6. Earthen Anchors
7. Ekphrastik I
8. Ekphrastik II: Gifts of Impermanence

Related News

#146 - Steve Buhl of 200 Stab Wounds

#145 - Matt & Jason of Wraith