NewsMarch 9, 2022 11:07 AM ET3,237 views

Nu-Core quintet Tallah announce sophomore album, premiere new song and video

Tallah feature drummer Max Portnoy, son of Dream Theater co-founder Mike Portnoy.


Official press release:

Nu-Core quintet Tallah, one of modern metal's most explosive and unbridled forces, have announced their sophomore full-length album, The Generation of Danger, today. The album will be released on September 9th, via Earache Records and much like their debut album, will revolve around around an elaborate and horrific story, dreamt up by the band that will unfold over the coming months in the build up to release. Pre-orders are available now.

To further push the world-building boundaries the band are known for, Tallah have also released a desktop video that accompanies today's announcement. Fans can play to uncover aspects of the dark The Generation of Danger universe including the first new single "Telescope" and its accompanying music video that was also released today. Watch the video here:

Speaking on today's announcement, Tallah frontman, Justin Bonitz shares: "'The Generation Of Danger' is a completely new and fresh concept for us, both lyrically and instrumentally. We wanted to take what made 'Matriphagy' so good and jack it up to 150%. The tracks are monstrous, daunting, and the story the music tells dives into the idea of people hiding what they truly desire until someone else comes along and forces it to surface. It's a concept album about a genius scientist who gets fed up with being swept under the rug. After the multi-billion-dollar corporation that employs him takes credit for his latest, award-winning invention, he snaps and retaliates against them by forcing them to take part in the greatest experiment the world of science has ever seen."

Drummer, Max Portnoy adds: "Telescope is one of fastest and most chaotic songs on The Generation Of Danger. It was the first song I started working on for the record and it went through hundreds of changes. It’s one of my top picks from the album with the song having 2 different choruses. One being a melodic one and one with a more rap type of vibe. The song has a lot to offer."

"The TGOD game was something I’ve been wanting to do since we started thinking of unique ways to present this album. It was an idea I hadn’t seen anyone do before and it’s the perfect way of setting up the album’s concept while offering loads of easter eggs and teasers. You’re essentially placed directly into the story and I feel it’s the most immersive thing we’ve ever done. I’m super proud of how it turned out."

As with Tallah's debut full-length, Matriphagy, The Generation Of Danger offers fans more than just an album of pioneering nu-core metal. Whilst it will most certainly be lauded for Justin Bonitz's acclaimed aptitude for embodying numerous characters and emotions in his outstanding vocal shape-shifting and ability to meld the ever-blossoming ingenuity of Tallah's intrepid musicians, The Generation Of Danger will reward those who delve deeper into the album and its supplementary content. The album was recorded once more with producer Josh Schroeder at Random Awesome Studio and continues to build the fascinatingly dark nu-core metal beast Tallah have created and set loose.

The Generation Of Danger track listing:

01. mud_castle
02. The Hard Reset
03. Stomping Grounds
04. The Impressionist
05. Shaken (not stirred)
06. For The Recognition
07. Of Nothing
08. Dicker's Done
09. Telescope
10. Wendrid
11. Headfirst
12. Thistle
13. How Long?

Related News

#150 Simon Marinate of Tracheotomy

#110 Mikael Stanne of Dark Tranquillity/The Halo Effect