NewsJanuary 5, 2022 1:02 PM ET1,536 views

Aeviterne to release debut full-length in March

Official press release:

Profound Lore Records is proud to announce the March 18th release of New York-based experimental death metal quartet Aeviterne's debut album The Ailing Facade.

On The Ailing Facade, Aeviterne looks beyond the destruction of flesh or the punishment of the spirit, instead turning inward to focus on the abyss of consciousness itself: the curse of sentience; the futility of productivity; the breakdown of consensus reality; humanity's twin drives to propagate and destroy itself, locked in permanent perverse competition.

Aeviterne formed in 2015 as a vehicle for guitarist/vocalist Garett Bussanick to continue exploring some of the musical ideas his previous band Flourishing pursued, particularly the fusion of death metal with rhythms and textures inspired by harsh post-punk and industrial music. Bussanick was joined by bassist Eric Rizk, who also played in Flourishing, as well as and drummer Ian Jacyszyn (Miasmatic Necrosis), and the band unveiled the Sireless EP in 2018. The years since that brief but powerful introductory statement were spent not in dormancy, but in painstaking composition and relentless experimentation in pursuit of the densely textured, multifaceted sound of their maiden LP, The Ailing Facade. The band's lineup has also expanded during this period to include guitarist Samuel Smith (Artificial Brain, Luminous Vault).

The result is an album that plunges listeners into hellish headspaces of dread, anxiety, and unease through dynamic songwriting and deliberate, nearly narrative sequencing rather than effects pedal abuse, made even queasier and more disorienting through subtle electronics and additional layers of percussion, culminating in the instrumental title track and epic closer "Dream In Lies." Immolation's harsh technicality and the psychedelic menace of Godflesh can serve as reference points, but don't fully capture the all-devouring alchemy of The Ailing Facade.

The Ailing Facade was engineered and mixed by Ian Jacyszyn, with drum engineering and mastering by Colin Marston (Gorguts, Krallice), and the album was completed with artwork and layout by Mark McCoy (Full Of Hell, Pig Destroyer).

The opening track and lead single from Aeviterne's The Ailing Facade, "Denature," is now streaming at YouTube here:

Watch for vinyl updates/preorders and additional singles to post preceding the album's release, and for Aeviterne to issue live announcements and more in the months ahead.

The Ailing Facade track listing:

1. Denature
2. Stilled the Hollows' Sway
3. Penitent
4. The Reeking Suns
5. The Gaunt Sky
6. Obeyance
7. The Ailing Facade
8. Dream In Lies

Related News

#150 Simon Marinate of Tracheotomy

#110 Mikael Stanne of Dark Tranquillity/The Halo Effect