NewsSeptember 23, 2021 12:46 PM ET2,239 views

APES sign with Translation Loss Records, announce new record

Official press release:

Quebec extreme metallers APES announce the bands most vicious and pitch-black offering to date titled, Lullabies For Eternal Sleep - due for release on January 7, 2022 via Translation Loss Records.

Written and recorded over a full lockdown, with strict curfews due to COVID-19, APES worked tirelessly (and even had to obtain work permits) to complete the bands most aggressive, powerful, and masterful output. Working alongside recording engineer Raphaël Malenfant at Broil Audio and then with Grammy nominated engineer and producer Will Putney, the band tore down genre boundaries and drew on 9 years of sound-crafting to create a nebulous amalgamation of high-energy metallic hardcore, aggressive grindcore, and lurching black metal. Lullabies For Eternal Sleep shows the band at their most commanding, uncompromising, and devoid of any barrier.

The album, which is meant to be listened to gapless, from beginning to the end, features noise contributions throughout from Full Of Hell's Dylan Walker. The album can be listened to as a 4-song EP, or as a single 12-minute piece - taking the listener on an undulating ride of nihilistic violence, to massive heaviness and fear, to tough-as-nails and demanding anguish, to a blackened, dread-filled ending.


The versatility of APES has taken them onstage with a slew of established acts such as Nails, Cattle Decapitation, Integrity, Full Of Hell, Despised Icon, Toxic Holocaust, Dopethrone, Gatecreeper, and more. APES plans to hit stages throughout Canada in 2022, once restrictions loosen, and then tour in support of Lullabies For Eternal Sleep later in the year.

The band have unveiled the opening track to Lullabies For Eternal Sleep titled, "Cornwall." The abrasive track is streaming now in the form a music video by Frank Appache.

About the signing and album announcement, APES commented: "We are proud to release what we think is our most brutal and best material yet! We're definitely stoked to now be part of the Translation Loss family — a passionate and supportive label that puts out beautiful records. We wrote and recorded 'Lullabies For Eternal Sleep' during a full pandemic lockdown, so the whole process was a bit more isolated and unusual. In spite of this, our motivation and energy were very high, and you can definitely hear it on the record. We're also grateful for many great collaborations in the making of this recording. Dylan Walker (Full Of Hell) glued the whole thing together with distressing drone sounds, and producer Will Putney delivered a powerful and punishing mix. This recording definitely takes everything up a notch for APES, and we could not be happier with the results!"


Lullabies For Eternal Sleep track listing:

1. Cornwall
2. Devour
3. No Will To Live
4. Sore

Related News