NewsJuly 27, 2021 3:11 PM ET1,442 views

Mehenet announce new full-length, share first single

Official press release:

New Orleans based ritualistic black metal sect, Mehenet, will release the bands highly anticipated, spirit-invoking, sophomore full-length, Ng’ambu on September 10 via Gilead Media. Drenched in pitch-black musical mastery and hymnic offering, the five tracks of Ng’ambu show the band as powerful, direct, and literal conduits for the rites in which they conjure.

Listen to the powerful first single from Ng’ambu, titled “The Mystery Of Nations,” now. It’s streaming exclusively at Metal Injection.

About the track, Mehenet comments: "This song contends with a spirit of vengeance. The decisive moment of enacting revenge is a dance between cunning and calculation. This song deals with the survivalism required to assimilate and corrupt the devices of your enemy against themselves. The weaponization of their religion, magic and customs against themselves. The sovereignty it requires to steal your enemies life, and make it into a libation. The core of this song was written after an ecstatic moment experienced while drinking from the skull of a confederate soldier. The atonal quality to these riffs is intentional. The deliberate discomfort of the tone reflects the mocking gesture of derision: “I will wear your mask, I will smile like you, and you will invite me in for the kill.”

Ng’ambu is available for pre-order now on compact disc and digital via Gilead Media (vinyl pre-order coming soon!) and on tape via Stygian Black Hand.


For the band's sophomore release, Mehenet connects a powerful fury of black metal mastery to the deeply rooted sounds of New Orleans - by way of utilizing samples of the bustling French Quarter and by paying respect and praise to the cultural music of the city by incorporating congas, whistles, and bells. Recorded and mixed in 2019 by James Whitten at High Tower Recording in New Orleans, LA and mastered by Dėha at Opus Magnum Studio-Brussels, Belgium, the band captured the intricately woven frenzy of the outfits stunning musicality while interlacing their powerfully provoked hymns with screeches of vicious and commanding vocals, anxiety-inducing swarms of massive riffs, and momentous, hellish drumming.

Ng’ambu track listing:

1. Dona Sete
2. Horse to the Earth
3. In the Garden of Suicide
4. Whom God Did Despise
5. The Mystery of Nations

Related Lambgoat Video content:

Related News

#112 Josh Middleton of Sylosis

#111 Brendon Small of Metalocalypse/Dethklok