NewsJuly 23, 2021 1:02 PM ET3,116 views

Carnifex announce new album, premiere title track

Official press release:

The undisputed masters of blackened deathcore, Carnifex, have returned to ignite sonic memories of albums past with the scorch of old-school sound. On September 3rd, the band will release their eighth studio album via Nuclear Blast Records. Today, the band releases the music video for the track "Graveside Confessions." Check out the video directed by Jim Louvau and Tony Aguilera, here:

Carnifex comments, "This is an immensely personal album to all four of us. We poured our hearts with all the love, fear, and pain we know into this album. Please take the journey with us."

Carnifex’s Graveside Confessions is no stranger to the harsh world in which it was created. While all of humanity experiences the turmoil of pain, weakness, and betrayal, it is also deeply ingrained in our nature to keep these notions closely protected; to keep them secret. Often as we approach death, we feel an insatiable need to reveal these things to one another; to confess.

The album arose just in time to aid in celebrating the 15 year anniversary of the debut Carnifex album, Dead In My Arms. The band revisited their first album to re-record three songs, but now with huge advancements in production technology. A return to their roots, these songs act as the completion of a circle; a return to where things first began.


With the engineering of the record completed in-house by drummer Shawn Cameron, the band recorded the album at Back Lounge Studios in San Diego, CA almost entirely themselves with the help of Mick Kenney (Anaal Nathrakh, Bleeding Through) for the mixing and mastering. This process especially compared to Carnifex albums of the past developed a far more satisfying and concentrated artistic vision for the band. Carnifex enlisted English artist Godmachine, who has worked on the two previous albums, to create the next installment of visual art for Graveside Confessions.

Graveside Confessions track listing:

01. Graveside Confessions
02. Pray for Peace
03. Seven Souls
04. Cursed
05. Carry Us Away
06. Talk to the Dead
07. January Nights
08. Cemetery Wander
09. Countess of Perpetual Torment
10. Dead Bodies Everywhere
11. Cold Dead Summer
12. Alive for the Last Time
13. Collaborating Like Killers (Graveside Edition)
14. My Heart in Atrophy (Graveside Edition)
15. Slit Wrist Savior (Graveside Edition)

Related News

Eighteen Visions announce 'Vanity' 20th anniversary tour
With support on select dates from Wristmeetrazor, SeeYouSpaceCowboy, End, more.

As I Lay Dying bassist Josh Gilbert quits band
After nearly 15 years in the band.