NewsMarch 31, 2021 10:10 AM ET1,960 views

The Absence debut first single from new album 'Coffinized'

Florida-based melodic death metal quartet The Absence have unveiled a music video for their new song, "Choirs of Sickness." The clip can be viewed below while the song itself is available for streaming and download via your favorite digital music outlet. "Choirs of Sickness" is the first single from The Absence's upcoming album Coffinized, which will be released June 25 by M-Theory Audio. CD and limited-edition vinyl variants can be pre-ordered now. Vocalist Jamie Stewart comments: "Haven't we all been Coffinized since last year? Cooped-up, masked, distanced, trapped within a formless bubble, longing for a collective exhale. We lost loved ones; we lost time, work, sanity... in a way, we lost ourselves. In regard to most bands' craft, we lost an integral portion of the thing that charges our collective batteries: shows. We lost our abilities to release and to connect with all of our friends and family. We miss the spark; we miss the conversations; and most of all, we miss each and every one of you. "This record is a void-bending combustion chamber of creativity," he continues. "Every single song bears a torch of deprivation, darkness and triumph. In the end, we do actually win. One second, you feel creative and accomplished, validated and whole. The next, you seem empty and worthless, and feel the claustrophobia of being forced into an unwilling casket. 'Coffinized' collects in detail the hysterical scratches and screams found on the inside of this casket's lid – the kind of gashes made by four beings who are very much alive and giving their all to be heard from a forced burial." Coffinized was produced and engineered by drummer Jeramie Kling and guitarist Taylor Nordberg and mixed by Kling. The album was mastered by Jonas Kjellgren (Immortal, Overkill, Scar Symmetry) at Sweden's Black Lounge Studios. Coffinized track listing: 01. Coffinized 02. Future Terminal 03. Choirs of Sickness 04. Radiant Devestation 05. Cathedral Dawn 06. Black Providence 07. Discordia 08. Treacherous 09. This Consuming Nocturne 10. Aperture Expands 11. Faith in Uncreation

Related News

Lambgoat Comment Reacts: Caleb Shomo of Beartooth
Watch Caleb react to the world famous Lambgoat comments.

Lambgoat Comment Reacts: Sam Carter of Architects
Watch Sam react to the world famous Lambgoat comments.