NewsMarch 24, 2021 4:55 PM ET2,443 views

The Bronx debut new track, to release album in August

The Bronx, the Los Angeles, California rock band whose sequential discography has seen the group through a nearly two-decade career, will release their new album Bronx VI on August 27 through Cooking Vinyl. "I'm excited," says guitar player Joby Ford. "From day one we really decided that we wanted to make a record that went in different directions and places. The thing I like a lot about it is that everybody contributed songs. It's not just Joby J. Ford guitars with Matt singing over it. I loved listening to what other people wrote, and I think those differences and nuances really come through." "We've known each other for a long time," adds singer Matt Caughthran, "and we're such good friends and we're so tight creatively, but we're still learning stuff about each other, especially when it comes to the process of creating an album. Brad and Ken are just coming out as songwriters and we're learning to write songs as a group around ideas they bring to the table. This is a really important record for us growth-wise because it kicked down a lot of doors that needed to be kicked down. I feel like now going forward the sky is the limit." An early taste of the eleven-song album comes via the new single "White Shadow," a track Caughthran describes as "a song about spiraling. Wild eyed Guitars, drums, and bass mixed with a high speed chase and a frantic mind unraveling." A stream is available here: Bronx VI was produced by Joe Baressi (Tool, Melvins, Bad Religion) at his House of Compression studio in Pasadena. "We'd been talking about doing a record together since 2005," explains Ford, "and it finally aligned schedule wise." Matt adds, "He was just the perfect guy for this record. We went in feeling really good about all the songs, and we just needed someone to make them sound fucking badass and take it to the next level. That was definitely Joe." Bronx VI track listing: 01. White Shadow 02. Superbloom 03. Watering The Well 04. Curb Feelers 05. Peace Pipe 06. High Five 07. Mexican Summer 08. New Lows 09. Breaking News 10. Jack of All Trades 11. Participation Trophy

Related News