NewsJanuary 9, 2021 3:07 PM ET11,255 views

Iced Earth members issue statement on Jon Schaffer

The other four members of metal band Iced Earth have put forth their first public statement since guitarist and band founder Jon Schaffer was purportedly photographed among those rioting at the Capitol on Wednesday, January 6. In the interim, both local and federal authorities have released photographs of those whose identity they seek, including the photo of Schaffer. Iced Earth's Stu Block, Luke Appleton, Brent Smedley, and Jake Dreyer collectively issued the following statement today:
"We want to thank those of you who have sent words of support in recent days. Some of you have been concerned by our silence, which we understand. We needed some time to properly process the information and find out some facts before we made a statement. "First and foremost we absolutely DO NOT condone nor do we support riots or the acts of violence that the rioters were involved in on January 6th at the US Capitol building. We hope that all those involved that day are brought to justice to be investigated and answer for their actions. "With broken hearts we are sending our love and compassion to everyone who has felt pain from the events on January 6th. We are deeply saddened and our hearts go out to the families of the lives lost that day. There are really no proper words to console. Just know we are with you in your shock, grief and pain. Much love to you all."

Related News

Lambgoat Comment Reacts: Caleb Shomo of Beartooth
Watch Caleb react to the world famous Lambgoat comments.

Lambgoat Comment Reacts: Sam Carter of Architects
Watch Sam react to the world famous Lambgoat comments.