NewsJuly 25, 2019 2:55 PM ET3,582 views

Gideon announce new album, debut song and video

Official press release: Today, Alabama hardcore outfit Gideon announced their fifth studio album, Out of Control, due out October 11th via Equal Vision Records. In celebration of this announcement they've also shared the lead single "Take Me" with an accompanying video. On the track the band speaks to the emotional rollercoaster of being a musician - from the lows of losing ones they love while on tour half a world away and not being able to come home during trying times to only feeling alive while pursuing their dream. Gideon is currently on tour with Crown The Empire and Atilla in North America. You can pre-order the album here and hear "Take Me" on YouTube or Spotify. From a very early age, most of us are molded by the traditions of our upbringing. While there are undeniable benefits to tradition, often the fear of bucking against the expectations they create prevent us from pursuing our personal truth. Growing up in the deep south, the members of Gideon spent years letting these mental fences dictate their creative direction. On their aptly titled fifth full-length album, Out of Control, the band is no longer allowing themselves to be put in a box, sonically or topically, to fit what is expected of them. Enhanced by its eclectic array of musical influences such as a heavy dose of 90's and 2000's nu metal, clear inflections of outlaw country, and hip hop, Out of Control is a powerful statement regarding who the members of Gideon really are and where they come from. The members of Gideon - Daniel McWhorter (Vocals), Tyler Riley (Guitar), Jake Smelley (Drums) and Caleb DeRusha (Bass) - have encountered a myriad of cultures while touring the world in support of their music. These opportunities led to the realization that open-mindedness and acceptance are important aspects of developing your own perspective. As a result, they've grown away from their roots as a "Christian Metalcore" band. Through their last three records, this transition becomes apparent. On 2014's Calloused, the band offered glimpses into their internal struggle with being a "Christian" band. By the release of Cold in 2017, they emerged more bitter and aggressive; defiant in the face of expectations. Finally, Out of Control finds the band breaking free of all previous restraints as they craft a diverse record unlike anything they've ever released. Out of Control track listing: 01. welcome to s town 02. SLEEP 03. TAKE ME 04. 2 CLOSE (ft. Drew York) 05. LOW LIFE 06. SOUTHWIND 07. STYLE 08. OUTLAW 09. LIFE WITHOUT 10. DENIAL 11. out of control 12. BITE DOWN

Related News