NewsNovember 13, 2018 6:38 PM ET1,409 views

Swallow The Sun announces new album

Official press release: Finnish melancholy death-doom metal masters Swallow The Sun announces the release of their new album, When A Shadow Is Forced Into The Light, which is scheduled for release on January 25th, 2019 via Century Media Records. The band will be releasing their standalone 14 minute epic single track "Lumina Aurea" on December 21st. The track will be available both digitally and as 12" EP vinyl version. Fueled by personal loss (the album title has its origins in Trees of Eternity's "Broken Mirror") and powered by the will to continue, When A Shadow Is Forced Into The Light showcases the group's ability to maintain its signature sound while expanding upon horizons and diving deeper into the crevasse of doom-death metal. Even though the single and the album are conceptually connected, they are musically completely different. While "Lumina Aurea," which features Wardruna's Einar Selvik and The Foreshadowing's Marco I. Benevento, marks the band's darkest and most sinister piece of music the band has ever released, When A Shadow Is Forced Into The Light follows a more positive approach and continues in the vein of previous albums - first-rate death-doom in the typical style of Swallow The Sun. When A Shadow Is Forced Into The Light track listing: 1. When A Shadow Is Forced Into The Light 2. The Crimson Crown 3. Firelights 4. Upon The Water 5. Stone Wings 6. Clouds On Your Side 7. Here On The Black Earth 8. Never Left

Related News

Video: Turnstile perform on 'The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon'
The band's third late-night TV appearance in the last six months.

Deftones' Stef Carpenter to miss upcoming tour: 'I'm just not ready to leave the country yet'
A hometown friend will be filling in.