NewsSeptember 14, 2017 9:51 AM ET4,341 views

Threat Signal premieres first new song in six years

Threat Signal announce Disconnect album Official press release: Canada's melodic thrash metal powerhouse, Threat Signal, premiere the first single from their long-awaited fourth studio album, Disconnect, set to be released on November 10th worldwide via Agonia Records. The band's first new song in six years, "Exit The Matrix," is available in the form of a lyric video here:
Subscribe to Lambgoat on  
Since their critically acclaimed debut offering Under Reprisal (2006), which won the "Canadian Recording Of The Year Award" at the Hamilton Music Awards, Threat Signal became internationally recognised as one of the most interesting modern acts in thrash metal. Their latest two installments, the intense Vigilance (2009) and reinvented Threat Signal (2011), have both met with unrelenting hype, with each generating growing interest within the metal community. Combining the complexity of thrash metal, with a more contemporary groove sound involving technical rhythms and melodic musical passages, the band finally returns with its fourth studio album, Disconnect. Founder and vocalist Jon Howard commented: "Well, we made it to album number 4! To say its been a tough ride would be an understatement, but as the shit piles on, we'll keep shovelling that shit off!! So we began writing this album back in 2012, and continued writing over the next 3 years until we were able to hit the studio again. Basically our thought process while writing was to not have an end goal of what the album should sound like. We didn't plan to make a really heavy album, or a melodic album, or take anyone else's input on what we should sound like. We basically just wrote songs with a clear and open mindset until Disconnect grew together. This album ranges from melodic metal, to hard rock, to thrash metal, and even down to a chill acoustic tune, its a roller coaster of a ride while staying true to the Threat Signal sound. You will feel the energy from all of our previous albums plus something new. A big thanks to Agonia records for believing in us and finally getting this album released. Also a HUGE thanks to the fans for sticking with us over the years. I'd like to dedicate our album Disconnect to my fallen friend and former Threat Signal drummer Norm Killeen. May you be jamming with the best of them in the next life!!! Peace and love". Disconnect was recorded and produced by Howard and lead guitarist Travis Montgomery. Mixing and mastering were done by Mark Lewis (DevilDriver, Whitechapel). Artwork for the album was created by Ludovic Cordelieres of Rusalkadesign (Kamelot). Disconnect track listing: 01. Elimination Process 02. Nostalgia 03. Walking Alone 04. Exit The Matrix 05. Falling Apart 06. Aura 07. Betrayal 08. To Thine Own Self Be True 09. Dimensions 10. Terminal Madness 11. Eyes Sewn Shut (box CD exclusive)

Related News

EP: #088 Amy Sciarretto of Atom Splitter PR

GEL: Live at Island Tropics
Watch the New Jersey hardcore band perform at a Jamaican restaurant in Florida.