NewsMay 3, 2017 8:53 PM ET1,935 views

Relapse Records to release new Ex Eye album

Official press release: Colin Stetson-led experimental supergroup Ex Eye is poised to make their formal debut with their forthcoming self-titled album, due out June 23rd (Relapse Records). The LP's first single, "Opposition/Perihelion" harnesses the precise, clockwork intricacies and ecstatic abandon that have quickly become the quartet's calling cards. Listen to it today via Soundcloud or YouTube.
Subscribe to Lambgoat on  
Anchored by Stetson on alto and bass saxophones, Ex Eye's spectacular lineup is fleshed out by Greg Fox (Liturgy) on drums, Shahzad Ismaily (Secret Chiefs 3, Ceramic Dog) on synths and Toby Summerfield on guitar. Recorded live at Ismaily's Figure 8 Studios in Brooklyn, NY (Blonde Redhead, Damien Rice, Okkervil River, Son Lux, Pussy Riot), the debut showcases a band that is without question the sum of its parts, as each player contributes not only their own particular technical prowess and expertise but also their signature compositional character. Ex Eye make incredibly complex yet beautifully dramatic and emotive music which eclipses usual expectation of style or genre and takes the listener on a cathartic, thrilling journey to total transcendence. This quartet's debut will surely be nothing like what has come before. Forthcoming live performances are listed below, look for more news to surface soon. Ex Eye track listing: 1. Xenolith: The Anvil 2. Opposition/Perihelion; The Coil 3. Anaitis Hymnal; The Akrose Disc 4. Form Constant; The Grid

1 comment

Post Comment

anonymous 5/5/2017 5:52:22 AM

some days I just don't have the patience to understand what Relapse is trying to do anymore.

Related News