NewsApril 21, 2017 9:54 PM ET2,312 views

Rex Brown (Pantera) details new LP, premieres song

Official press release: Multi-platinum selling artist Rex Brown has debuted an all new single titled "Crossing Lines," exclusively via Loudwire. Rex Brown will release Smoke On This... on July 28th, 2017 via Entertainment One Music (eOne Music). "My motto these days is 'Shake some shit up,'" Brown declares about the new LP. "I've had my ups and downs, like anybody in this business. I wanted to feel like a true artist again, where I can write and record songs without worrying about any of the bullshit." "Crossing Lines" is also available on all streaming platforms and as an iTunes instant gratification track, meaning fans who pre order the LP today will the the track as a download instantly. The artwork and track listing are available now as well for the first time along with both digital and physical pre orders options.
Subscribe to Lambgoat on  
Brown continues, "We're not going to necessarily cater to metal fans, but the guys who grew up with Pantera, a lot of them love all the same stuff that I grew up on, too. This is just something else I'm doing for fun, man. And musical Freedom. Fun has to come into it or I'm not going to do it. I've had a tremendous career and now I feel like I'm thirty years old again. This has given me that freedom I needed." "I've got so much more in me," Brown enthuses. "I'm just getting my feet wet." Drums were tracked by Christopher Williams, himself no stranger to diverse tastes, from funk music to punk. His talent has been utilized by country music star Lee Greenwood, the reconstituted Blackfoot and most recently, power metal legends Accept. The album was produced by New Yorker turned Nashville transplant Caleb Sherman, a multi-instrumentalist with work on records by Little Big Town and Porter Block, among others. "Caleb produced the project from a musician's standpoint," adds Brown. "Not just a typical producer's standpoint, which was something I definitely needed. Between Caleb and Lance, we were a force to be reckoned with. They really pulled out the best in me." Peter Keyes, known for his work with Lynyrd Skynyrd can also be heard on a few tracks. All bass tracking came from Rex himself as well. Smoke On This... track listing: 01. Lone Rider 02. Crossing Lines 03. Buried Alive 04. Train Song 05. Get Yourself Alright 06. Fault Line 07. What Comes Around... 08. Grace 09. So Into You 10. Best Of Me 11. One Of these Days

Related News