NewsJanuary 25, 2017 10:32 AM ET5,058 views

Iron Monkey sign with Relapse Records, prepare new LP

Official press release: Relapse Records is extremely proud to announce the signing of cult UK doom/sludge outfit Iron Monkey. Heavily influenced by the nihilistic sound of groups like Eyehategod, Buzzov*en, Floor and Grief, Iron Monkey originally formed in Nottingham, England in 1994 and released two full-lengths (1997's self-titled debut and 1998's Our Problem), a live album and a split with Church of Misery before splitting in 1999. Now, almost two decades later, the band has decided to reform as a trio with co-founding members S. Watson on bass and J. Rushby on guitar / vocals. They're rounded out by new member S. Briggs (Chaos U.K.,) who also played with original Iron Monkey vocalist J.P. Morrow in the short-lived sludge supergroup My War. Iron Monkey has entered Moot Group studios in Nottingham to record a new album with Johnny A. Carter (ex-Pitchshifter). The album will consist of eight tracks plus a cover song and a late summer / early fall release is expected via Relapse Records. The album has already landed on Decibel Magazine's 20 Most Anticipated Albums of 2017 list. The band commented on the reformation and new material: "We're older, more cynical, more isolationist. Musically, we're more aggressive, more focused - a direct assault. We intend to take what is rightfully ours, usurp the scene, then crush its skull."

Related News

Turnstile announce North American fall tour
Turnstile will headline a six-week tour later this year.

Video: 10-year-old girl covers Spiritbox on America's Got Talent
Not only was Miss Harper on network TV last night — she also performed with Spiritbox in London.