NewsJune 16, 2015 3:53 PM ET1,860 views

Publicist UK announce new album, debut first song

Official press release: Relapse Records is proud to present Forgive Yourself, the debut album from Publicist UK, a post-punk four-piece comprised of members of Municipal Waste, Revocation, Goes Cube, Discordance Axis, Burnt By The Sun & more. As one of the most intriguing cross-genre debuts in recent years, Forgive Yourself is a nine-song showcase sounding like Michael Gira (Swans) on a Saul Bellow bender whose dark and cerebral mood is lifted by the booming baritone of vocalist Zachary Lipez. Forgive Yourself will be released on Friday, August 21. Originally conceived as a long-distance experiment, Publicist UK quickly and effortlessly became a fully functioning band. Featuring Dave Witte (Municipal Waste, ex-Burnt by the Sun, Discordance Axis, Melt-Banana), Zachary Lipez (ex-Freshkills), Brett Bamberger (Revocation, ex-East of the Wall), and David Obuchowski (Goes Cube, Distant Correspondent), many expected speedy, aggressive metal. Instead, the band defied expectations with Forgive Yourself by creating nine rousing songs that are as moody and melodic as they are heavy and driving. After writing and rough-recording songs from the band members' respective homes in Virginia, New York, New Jersey and Colorado during its early days, Publicist UK released two demos that went on to be featured by both Decibel and Noisey. Shortly thereafter, the band signed to Relapse Records and recorded its full-length in New Hampshire at The Wild Arctic Studio with producer Dean Baltulonis. Obuchowski commented "We went into the studio full of inspiration and energy, intent on getting straight to work---no experimenting, no messing around," said guitarist David Obuchowski. "Dean had the same mindset, and the album was recorded at a breakneck pace and completed in a matter of days. We feel like Dean captured not only the atmosphere and mood but that urgency too." Forgive Yourself track listing 1. Cowards 2. Slow Dancing To This Bitter Earth 3. Levitate The Pentagon 4. Blood Relative 5. I Wish You'd Never Gone To School 6. Canary 7. Telegraphing 8. You Are The Stars 9. Away


Post Comment

Related News