NewsJune 25, 2014 3:37 PM ET2,828 views

Relapse Records signs Gruesome

Official press release: Relapse Records is excited to announce the signing of old-school death metal supergroup Gruesome. Featuring guitarist/vocalist Matt Harvey (Exhumed, Dekapitator), drummer Gus Rios (ex-Malevolent Creation), guitarist Daniel Gonzalez (Possessed), and bassist Robin Mazen (Derketa), the group formed in April 2014 as a respectful celebration of the sound of the early Death records. The quartet quickly recorded a demo that gained a lot of buzz for its true to form display of late-80s / early 90s Floridian Death Metal. Two songs from the demo can be streamed via their official Bandcamp here. The band will be heading to Florida this Summer to record their debut full-length which is slated for an early 2015 release via Relapse. Matt Harvey commented on the signing: "We're very psyched to be joining the Relapse roster. Their support in our mission to keep the early Death sound alive means a lot, especially since they're the home of the Death catalog. We'll be entering the studio in (where else?) Florida very soon to wrap up a record by the end of summer for an early 2015 release. We can't wait for all of you mutants out there to check it out. We assure you it'll be utterly Gruesome (see what I did there?). Cheers!"

Related News

Turnstile announce North American fall tour
Turnstile will headline a six-week tour later this year.

Video: 10-year-old girl covers Spiritbox on America's Got Talent
Not only was Miss Harper on network TV last night — she also performed with Spiritbox in London.