NewsSeptember 27, 2013 3:04 PM ET3,719 views

Relapse Records signs Pyrrhon

Official press release: Relapse Records is extremely proud to announce the signing of New York City avant-garde, technical death metal quartet Pyrrhon (pronounced "peer-on"). Formed in 2008, Pyrrhon (Dylan DiLella - guitar, Erik Malave - bass, Alex Cohen - drums, Doug Moore - vocals) have released one EP (Fever Kingdoms - 2010) and one LP (An Excellent Servant But a Terrible Master - 2011) via The Path Less Traveled Records and Selfmadegod Records respectively. Both records can be streamed via their official Bandcamp page here. Relapse will release the band's upcoming sophomore album titled The Mother of Virtues in early 2014. A nightmarish blend of clanging death metal with surreal psychedelic elements, jazz rhythms, and delirious storytelling, The Mother of Virtues was tracked and mixed by Ryan Jones (Today is the Day, Mutilation Rites, Wetnurse) at Saint Vitus Bar and The Sound City, Brooklyn in May and June 2013. The record was then mastered by Colin Marston (Krallice, Gorguts) at The Thousand Caves Studios, Brooklyn, in August 2013. More album details will be revealed shortly. Vocalist Doug Moore commented on the signing: "When I was 15, I bought a copy of Relapse's Contaminated 5.0 sampler CD. Through it, I encountered Suffocation, Neurosis, Pig Destroyer, Human Remains, and countless other great bands for the first time. We are thrilled and honored to work with a label whose output has done so much to drive metal forward, and which has meant so much to all four of us over the years."

Related News

Turnstile announce North American fall tour
Turnstile will headline a six-week tour later this year.

Video: 10-year-old girl covers Spiritbox on America's Got Talent
Not only was Miss Harper on network TV last night — she also performed with Spiritbox in London.