NewsNovember 18, 2009 6:21 PM ET4,607 views

Relapse Records signs Rotten Sound

Relapse Records has announced the signing of Finland's Rotten Sound. Rotten Sound (Keijo Niinimaa – vocals, Mika Aalto – guitars, Sami Latva – drums, Toni Pihlaga - bass) formed in 1993 and has since released a series of full-lengths and EPs. Rotten Sound's latest album, "Cycles," was released in January of 2008 and debuted at #12 on the Finnish charts. The group is currently writing for their follow-up to "Cycles" but will first see an EP release early next year. The EP, titled "Napalm," is scheduled for a March release via Relapse. Additional details will be announced soon. Rotten Sound's Niinimaa commented on the signing: "Relapse Records has been a strong label for grindcore since they started, which is one of the reasons that made us want to re-release our 'Murderworks' album through them in 2005. We will fit to their roster like a fist to an ass. Being along the same line with other labelmates is very important for us because we want to tour all over this planet with bands we like ourselves. The upcoming 'Napalm' EP and the next full-length album will start a new and (even) more aggressive era for Rotten Sound. Doing it together with Relapse Records will make this period more grind than any of our phases before."

Related News

Turnstile announce North American fall tour
Turnstile will headline a six-week tour later this year.

Video: 10-year-old girl covers Spiritbox on America's Got Talent
Not only was Miss Harper on network TV last night — she also performed with Spiritbox in London.